Simon Yates Crowned as 2020 Tirreno-Adriatico Champion

Simon Yates Crowned as 2020 Tirreno-Adriatico Champion

Mitchelton-Scott (Italy) - Press Release: Former Vuelta a Espana winner Simon Yates has been crowned the 2020 Tirreno-Adriatico champion following the final stage time trial in San Benedetto del Tronto.

Yates entered the final 10km time trial with a 16-second advantage, before putting in a strong ride to secure the overall title, the second stage race victory of his career.

Simon Yates:

“I am really happy, it’s my only stage race win outside the Vuelta and I’m just happy I could finish off the job of the team who did a fantastic job all week and today it was up to me...

2020 Tirreno Adriatico – Stage 8 Results:

1. Filippo Ganna (INEOS Grenadiers) 10:42
2. Victor Campernaerts (NTT Pro Cycling) +0:18
3. Rohan Dennis (INEOS Grenadiers) +0:26
18. Simon Yates (Mitchelton-SCOTT) +0:50

2020 Tirreno Adriatico – FINAL General Classification:

1. Simon Yates (Mitchelton-SCOTT) 32:07:34
2. Geraint Thomas (INEOS Grenadiers) +0:17
3. Rafal Majka (BORA – Hansgrohe) +0:29

Photo courtesy of Getty Images.

For more information about this article from Mitchelton-Scott click here.

Source link

Other articles from Mitchelton-Scott.

© Mitchelton-Scott /

Share this Article!

Interested? Submit your enquiry using the form below:

Only available for registered users. Sign In to your account or register here.

Lizzy Banks Victorious After Outstanding Performance on Stage Four of the Giro Rosa

Tirreno Adriatico: Ganna Storms to Tirreno TT Success