Tour de France - 2020 Route

Tour de France - 2020 Route

Tour de France (France) - From Nice to Paris, the course of the 2020 Tour de France will never cross any border of France. A total of 6 regions and 32 departments will be travelled through.


  • 9 flat stages
  • 3 hilly stages
  • 8 mountain stages with mountain-top finishes (Orcières-Merlette, Puy Mary, Grand Colombier, Méribel Col de la Loze)
  • 1 individual time-trial stage
  • 2 rest days



12 new stage cities or sites will appear on the map of the 2020 Tour, that’s over one third out of a total of 35:

  • Le Teil (start of stage 6)
  • Mont Aigoual (finish of stage 6)
  • Cazères-sur-Garonne (start of stage 8)
  • Île de Ré Saint-Martin-de-Ré (finish of stage 10)
  • Châtelaillon-Plage (start of stage 11)
  • Chauvigny (start of stage 12)
  • Châtel-Guyon (start of stage 13)
  • Puy Mary Cantal (finish of stage 13)
  • Grand Colombier (finish of stage 15)
  • La Roche-sur-Foron (finish of stage 18)
  • Lure (start of stage 20)
  • Mantes-la-Jolie (start of stage 21)



The five mountain ranges of France will be on the menu of the 107th Tour de France. In the following order of appearance: Alps, Massif central, Pyrenees, Jura and Vosges. There will be four new climbs: Col de la Lusette and Suc au May in the Massif central, Col de la Hourcère in the Pyrenees and Col de la Loze in the Alps as well as the one to the Col de la Madeleine by a sinuous road.


In 2020, there will only be one time-trial that will be covered individually. It will take place on the penultimate stage between Lure La Planche des Belles Filles on a distance of 36 kilometres.

Bonus seconds:

They will be distributed at the finish of each normal stage and will offer respectively 10, 6 and 4 seconds to the first three.

Bonus points:

They will be given out at the top of the 8 summits of the following climbs at strategic places on the course and will award respectively 8,5 and 2 seconds (subject to the approval of the Union cycliste internationale) to the first three ranked riders:

  • Stage 2 | Col des Quatre Chemins
  • Stage 6 | Col de la Lusette
  • Stage 8 | Col de Peyresourde
  • Stage 9 | Col de Marie Blanque
  • Stage 12 | Suc au May
  • Stage 13 | Col de Neronne
  • Stage 16 | Montée de Saint-Nizier-du-Moucherotte
  • Stage 18 | Montée du plateau des Glières


These bonus points will have no influence on the points classification.

For more information about this article from Tour de France click here.

Source link

Other articles from Tour de France.

Interesting Links:
Looking for new Cycling Glasses, Jerseys, Bib Shorts, Jackets, Vests and More? Get the best prices online using the discount code BIKETODAY on all your purchases on Siroko online store at:
Looking for Automation Solutions for your Processes? Visit to find Automation Suppliers, Product & Innovation News, Case Studies, Marketplace, etc.
Are you interested to advertise on, the main online bike Marketplace in Portugal? Contact us!
Are you interested to include your Link here, visible on all articles and marketplace product pages? Contact us!

© Tour de France /

Share this Article!

Interested? Submit your enquiry using the form below:

Only available for registered users. Sign In to your account or register here.

Brand New Look, Same Agile Handling. Meet the 2020 Otso Voytek

Momsen Bikes Dropped the New 2020 VIPA ULTRA